South East Asia

APRRN’s South East Asia Working Group focuses on issues and activities in the following countries: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor Leste, and Viet Nam. The Working Group has a particular focus on engaging with the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) and ASEAN Member States, and as a platform for civil society organisations to develop their capacity to be able to address key issues affecting refugees in the ASEAN region.

Key working group activities are outlined in the South East Asia Working Group Action Plan and include:

Joint Advocacy:

  • Engage with ASEAN through its various bodies to develop a regional protection framework
  • Support CBOs on Thailand-Burma border in advocacy on ‘voluntary’ repatriation
  • Engage with ASEAN governments through direct advocacy
  • Advance regional protection of stateless Rohingya refugees
  • Support & engage in development, implementation & monitoring of UPR recommendations & process for SEA countries

Capacity strengthening:

  • Sensitise local/regional media on refugee issues

Resource / knowledge sharing and outreach:

  • Document forced migration patterns within SEA
  • Develop and document good practices on return & reintegration for Burmese returnee refugees
  • Convene SEAWG members to share good practices & challenges in refugee protection within SEA region

Chair: Julio Castor (SUAKA, Indonesia)

Deputy Chair: TBC