East Asia

The East Asia Working Group covers the following countries: Japan, Hong Kong, Korea, Macau, Mongolia and Taiwan.

Key working group activities are outlined in the East Asia Working Group Action Plan and include:


  • Increase refugee voices through effective advocacy strategies.
  • Organise awareness raising events that address xenophobia and highlight the contributions refugees make to host societies.
  • Seek opportunities for roundtable discussions with different stakeholders.
  • Engage with governments through advocacy, lobbing and collaboration.
  • Advocate for alternatives to detention and the monitoring of detention facilities.
  • Encourage cooperation on resettlement programmes between the countries where refugees are being resettled and the destination countries.


  • Expand training on psycho-social support, interpretation, alternatives to detention and statelessness.

Resource sharing and outreach:

  • Facilitate good practice exchange through online meetings, Google Groups, social media and the website.
  • Outreach to civil society in under- and unrepresented countries e.g. China and Mongolia.
  • Raise awareness on North Korean refugee issues.

Working Group Chairs:

Chair: Jean Kim (Duroo – Association for Public Interest Law, South Korea)
Deputy Chair: Satomi Hiyama (Forum for Refugees, Japan)