Australia, New Zealand & the Pacific

The Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Working Group covers the following countries: Australia, New Zealand, Nauru and Papua New Guinea.

Key working group activities are outlined in the ANZPWG Action Plan and include:


  • Influence policy makers in Australia and Zealand on regional issues (SA and SEA). Also to highlight issues that Aus and NZ should be raising through the Bali Process and the media.
  • Support Australian and New Zealand NGOs in their advocacy towards closing Australia‚Äôs offshore detention centres.
  • Increase awareness of refugee issues amongst civil society in New Zealand for greater support.

Resource sharing and outreach:

  • Continue positive engagement with the NZ Government to encourage their greater participation and leadership regionally and internationally on refugee issues.

Working Group Chairs:

Chair: Elizabeth Young (KiwiClass, New Zealand)

Deputy Chair: Sajjad Askary (Asylum Seeker Resource Centre, Australia)